Pro Football Hall of Fame Bypasses Some Worthy Names



 by Amy

Yes, it’s that time again; the ‘best of the best’ in football find themselves put out to pasture and straight into the Hall of Fame. (Well…not exactly straight into, time has certainly passed by).


Being an inductee into the Pro Football Hall of Fame is the biggest honor in NFL players and coaches careers. It means you are remembered; that you have been put on the most elite list in the nation because of hard work, determination and, hopefully, lots of Super Bowl rings.


The Hall of Fame, for those who don’t know, is not only for players and coaches – they also have a place for the owners and team/league officials who have been seen as making huge contributions to professional football during their lifetimes.


The very first class of inductees began back in 1963. At that time there were seventeen ‘elite.’ With this new class, the NFL now has 280 champions in their own right who have earned the most prestigious award they could possibly receive.


The Selection Committee that gets together every year, meeting at the time and the location of that year’s Super Bowl, is made up of forty-four members. Here, is where they must choose between four and seven individuals to select for this amazing honor. In addition, however, the Seniors Committee made up of nine members chooses two nominees they believe made the most contributions to football. The two nominees are lovingly referred to as ‘old-timer’ nominees.


This is one of the most exclusive clubs in the world, and the 2013 debate seems to be that some of the most notable and most deservingfoot names in football were left off the list. The players heading to the ‘Big House’ to join the history books, include Larry Allen, Cris Carter, Curley Culp, Jonathan Ogden, Dave Robinson, Warren Sapp – and one of the biggest and most deserving names in football history – coach, Bill Parcells.


A few facts that make certain people a bit angry is that there are two NFL teams that have no representatives in the Hall at all. Of course, these teams didn’t even begin playing until 1995 (Jacksonville Jaguars), and in 2002 (The Houston Texans). Reggie White was finally crowned for the Panthers in 2006, and Rod Woodson has represented the Ravens since 2009. Punters and referees apparently are not on anyone‘s list this year – just like all the years before.


And although no one is knocking the choices – certainly not the choice of Bill Parcells – a name that has not gone into the Hall is one that everyone is talking about; even NFL experts are a bit angry that he was looked over even when they believe he’s better than most of the class members this year. This was Michael Strahan’s first go-round to get into the Hall. However, just because he missed out this time, the consensus is he will most definitely make the 2014 class.


Strahan was and will always be a New York Giants icon (at least to New York). Fifteen seasons he worked, and not only did he protect his QB like a grizzly bear protects her cub, but he also was a great one when it came to providing that little bit of ‘bad boy’ on the field.


Not his first go-round, receiver Tim Brown has now seen his fourth chance go by. This is a man who worked for seventeen years and there are a list of players who will tell you that they absolutely could not stop him. At least 80 passes in nine seasons is a record Brown can claim, and he finished at least nine seasons with at least 1,000 receiving yards each. And more than a few people out there are outraged that he’s been overlooked now four times, even though history shows Brown to be one of the best receivers ever to play the game.


There are other names being bandied about, but the reasons for their bypass may be quite simple. There are many who will say that this particular selection committee is very much like the ones who choose Oscar nominees. Even if the acting is the best of the best, they’re simply not the ‘right’ face to represent the ‘elite’ Academy.


Perhaps it’s time to vote on pure skill and talent? Just a thought…


Until Next Time, Everybody,